Steffens and Leuder named All-WIAC

Steffens and Leuder named All-WIAC

Printable version of the 2018 All-WIAC Women's Soccer Team

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. - The Pioneers' Caelyn Steffens and Amber Leuder were named to the All-WIAC team in record-breaking season. Alison Hartlaub was named to the All-Sportsmanship team.

Steffens and Leuder both walked away from the 2018 season with their place in the UW-Platteville Women's Soccer record book.

Steffens, a freshman from Normal, Ill., broke several records throughout her historic freshman campaign. Steffens shattered the school records for goals in a season with 26 (previous record 17) and points in a season with 58 (previous record 38). Steffens also finished tied for 6th in school history with six assists on the season. Early in the season, Steffens broke the school record for goals in a single game (6) on Sept. 22 against St. Norbert.

Leuder, a sophomore from Baraboo, Wis., broke a record of her own and contributed offensively all season. Leuder broke the school record for assists in a season with 10 (previous record 7) while adding 10 goals of her own (Tied for 9th in school history). Leuder's best performances came against Ripon (2 goals, 1 assist), Buena Vista (2 goals, 1 assist) and St. Norbert (3 assists). Leuder is tied for 5th in school history with 30 points in a single season.

Hartlaub, a junior from Greendale, Wis., was named to the All-Sportsmanship team for her efforts this season. Hartlaub appeared in 16 of the 19 games for the Pioneers and started on September 5th against Simpson.

2018 All-WIAC Women's Soccer Team
Name, School, Year, Position, Hometown (High School)
Meaghan Ambelang, Stevens Point, Sophomore, Defender, Stuttgart, Germany (Patch/Stuttgart)
Anna Boyd, Whitewater, Sophomore, Forward, De Pere, Wis.
Lily Brock, La Crosse, Sophomore, Goalkeeper, Wauwatosa, Wis. (East)
Megan Carroll, La Crosse, Senior, Defender, Mundelein, Ill.
Payton DeLuga, Whitewater, Senior, Defender, Algonquin, Ill. (Dundee Crown)
Cassie Handrick, La Crosse, Senior, Midfielder, Mt. Horeb, Wis.
Maddy Hardyman, Stevens Point, Junior, Forward, Red Wing, Minn.
Margaret Harings, La Crosse, Senior, Midfielder, Eagan, Minn.
Delaney Harnell, La Crosse, Senior, Defender, Minnetonka, Minn.
Kaitlyn Hess, Stevens Point, Sophomore, Defender, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. (Lincoln)
Sydney Kasper, Stout, Senior, Forward, Owatonna, Minn.
Mallory Knight, Oshkosh, Sophomore, Forward, Neosho, Wis. (Hartford)
Maggie Koehler, River Falls, Junior, Forward, Hudson, Wis.
Sammy Lefaive, Eau Claire, Senior, Goalkeeper, Coon Rapids, Minn.
Amber Lueder, Platteville, Sophomore, Forward, Baraboo, Wis.
Maya Schmitt, La Crosse, Senior, Midfielder, Lindenhurst, Ill. (Lake Community)
Emily Sullivan, Eau Claire, Junior, Midfielder, Medina, Minn. (Wayzata)
Tory Schumann, Oshkosh, Sophomore, Midfielder, West Chicago, Ill. (St. Charles East)
Caelyn Steffens, Platteville, Freshman, Forward, Normal, Ill.
Mariah Troje, River Falls, Junior, Midfielder, Cottage Grove, Minn. (Park)
Kaitlyn Villars, La Crosse, Sophomore, Forward, Minneapolis, Minn. (Washburn)
Monica Zoellner, Eau Claire, Senior, Forward, East Troy, Wis.
All-Sportsmanship Team
Lexi Ahrens, Stevens Point, Senior, Defender, Appleton, Wis. (East)
Erin Gruber, Oshkosh, Senior, Defender, Rubicon, Wis. (Hartford)
Alison Hartlaub, Platteville, Junior, Defender, Greendale, Wis. (Martin Luther)
Olivia Karegeannes, La Crosse, Senior, Midfielder, Racine, Wis. (The Prairie School)
Anna Larson, Eau Claire, Sophomore, Defender, Lakeville, Minn. (North)
Katie Marthaler, River Falls, Senior, Defender, Blaine, Minn.
Melissa Rice, Stout, Senior, Defender, Madison, Wis. (East)
Elli Wahlberg, Whitewater, Junior, Forward, St. Charles, Ill. (North)
Offensive Player of the Year:  Margaret Harings of La Crosse
Defensive Player of the Year:  Maya Schmitt of La Crosse
Coaching Staff of the Year:  La Crosse
Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete:  Payton DeLuga of Whitewater