Kelly and Kirchner earn Athlete of the Year Honors

Kelly and Kirchner earn Athlete of the Year Honors

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. -- The University of Wisconsin-Platteville athletic department held its 2013-14 Athletic Honors Evening on Tuesday, May 6.

Stephanie Kirchner was very busy, as was named the Women’s Scholar Athlete, Women’s Athlete of the Year, and UW-Platteville’s nominee for the NCAA Woman of the Year. John Kelly was selected as the Male Athlete of the Year and Cameron Weess was named Men’s Scholar-Athlete

Career Achievement Awards were given to track & field all-Americans T.J. Valley and Ben Farrell, basketball’s Chas Cross and Eric Gerber, and soccer’s Ian Christensen.

Other award winners included:

  • Assistant Coach of the Year: Scott McWilliams
  • Katie Vaassen Scholarship: Brittany Fitzgerald, women’s soccer manager
  • Award of Thanks: Nance Ware and Colin Stringer
  • Pioneer ESPY - Record Breaking Performance: Chas Cross, men’s basketball
  • Pioneer ESPY - Comeback of the Year: Football
  • Pioneer ESPY - Upset of the Year: Women’s Soccer
  • Pioneer ESPY - Performance of the Year: Alyssa Krajco
  • Pioneer ESPY - Play of the Year: Football